Okuhle Cele, Ryan Rickelton, Jacques Snyman get maiden South Africa call-ups


Heinrich Klaasen will captain a second-string T20I side in Pakistan, with several regulars prepping for Tests against Australia

Heinrich Klaasen will have a challenge on his hands, in handling a new-look T20I unit  

Heinrich Klaasen will captain a second-string South African T20I side in Pakistan, with most of the Test squad returning home to prepare for a three-match series against Australia, scheduled to start in March though yet to be officially confirmed. George Linde, Dwaine Pretorius, Tabraiz Shamsi and Lutho Sipamla are the only members of the Test squad that will remain in Pakistan for the T20Is.

South Africa named an 18-man T20I group for the Pakistan series, with three maiden inclusions. Fast bowler Okuhle Cele, wicketkeeper-batsman Ryan Rickelton and offspinner Jacques Snyman received their first call-ups to the national side while David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Reeza Hendricks and Jon-Jon Smuts will provide experience and familiarity.

Squad: Heinrich Klaasen, Nandre Burger, Okuhle Cele, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, George Linde, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Ryan Rickelton, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Pite van Biljon, Glenton Stuurman, Jacques Snyman

More to follow

Firdose Moonda is ESPNcricinfo’s South Africa correspondent

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.