Netherlands opt to bowl, Mustafizur still out

Toss Netherlands opt to bowl v Bangladesh
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Arafat Sunny’s inclusion was the only change for Bangladesh from the XI that played the Asia Cup final © AFP

Netherlands captain Peter Borren decided to field in the side’s opening World T20 game against Bangladesh in Dharamsala. He said the pitch was likely to be good for batting over 40 overs, so they wanted to chase a target.

Bangladesh made one change, bringing in Arafat Sunny in place of left-arm pace bowler Abu Hider who was in the XI in the Asia Cup final. Mustafizur Rahman has still not recovered from the side strain that kept him out of the last few matches of the Asia Cup. This was Bangladesh’s first international match in India in nearly a decade.

Netherlands went with the pace-bowling pair of Paul van Meekeren and Logan van Beek, and left out chinaman bowler Michael Rippon.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Nasir Hossain, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 9 Al-Amin Hossain, 10 Arafat Sunny, 11 Taskin Ahmed

Netherlands: 1 Stephan Myburgh, 2 Wesley Barresi (wk), 3 Ben Cooper, 4 Tom Cooper, 5 Peter Borren (capt), 6 Roelof van der Merwe, 7 Pieter Seelar, 8 Mudassar Bukhari, 9 Logan van Beek, 10 Tim van der Gugten, 11 Paul van Meekeren

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *