Thunder storm to Big Bash League title

Sydney Thunder completed a Big Bash League double in Mike Hussey’s last game in Australia, beating a Melbourne Stars team containing Luke Wright and Kevin Pietersen by three wickets in the final.

Having seen their women’s side defeat Sydney Sixers before the men’s showpiece at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, Hussey’s side matched their achievements by chasing 177 with three balls unused.

In-form opening batsman Usman Khawaja smashed 70 off 40 balls while Hussey made 18 in his final innings and despite the left-handed pair departing in quick succession, the Thunder got home when Ben Rohrer lifted Daniel Worrall for a maximum in the final over.

Wright, named in the team of the tournament along with fellow Englishman Adil Rashid, and Pietersen both made an impact with the bat as the Stars posted 176 for nine after losing the toss.

Opening batsman Wright struck two fours and a six in a 24-ball 23, adding 44 for the second wicket with Pietersen, whose 74 off 39 deliveries proved in vain.

Luke Wright finds himself in an awkward position when attempting to pull during his 24-ball innings of 23 at the MCG

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *