Manoj Tiwary Retained as Bengal Captain for Ranji Trophy Quarterfinals

Manoj Tiwary underwent a rehab at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru.


Bengal retained Manoj Tiwary as their captain despite his hamstring injury for the Ranji Trophy quarterfinal cricket match against Madhya Pradesh in Mumbai from February 3-7. (Read More in Cricket)

“I’m hopeful to be fit in time before the quarters,” Tiwary, who underwent a rehab at the NCA in Bengaluru, said after the selection committee meeting.

The 20-member Bengal squad also included pacer Veer Pratap Singh, who also has fitness issues. The selectors though will prune the squad further after assessing the fitness concerns in next two days.

The current squad includes some uncapped players in Amit Kuila, Koushik Ghosh, Prasenjit Das and Ishan Porel.

The squad also features Ravi Kant Singh, who was recently cleared of a suspect action.


Manoj Tiwary (c), Wriddhiman Saha, Shreevats Goswami, Sudip Chatterjee, Abhimanyu Easwaran, Sayan Sekhar Mondal, Pankaj Shaw, Amir Gani, Pragyan Ojha, Ashok Dinda, Veer Pratap Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Rohan Banerjee, Pritam Chakraborty, Pradipta Pramanik, Amit Kuila, Prasenjit Das, Ravi Kant Singh, Ishan Porel, Koushik Ghosh.

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.