India bat, Australia make three changes

Toss India chose to bat v Australia
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 04:06

Agarkar: India must play wicket-taking bowlers

MS Dhoni won the toss and India will again set Australia a target in the second ODI in Brisbane. India’s 309 in the first match at the WACA was not enough to prevent an Australian victory but Dhoni was keen to again give his batsmen first chance on an excellent batting surface at the Gabba, where the weather forecast had also improved to suggest rain would not be a major factor.

India made one change to their line-up, with Ishant Sharma in for Bhuvneshwar Kumar. Australia made three changes, with Shaun Marsh listed to open alongside Aaron Finch, John Hastings included for his first home ODI in nearly five years, and fast bowler Kane Richardson also named in an inexperienced attack also featuring Joel Paris and Scott Boland.

Australia’s selectors opted to rest Josh Hazlewood, who has had a busy summer and played all six Test matches against New Zealand and West Indies. Mitchell Marsh had also been rested after the Perth ODI but will rejoin the squad for the third match in Brisbane, while David Warner is on paternity leave after the birth of his second child and will miss this game and the Melbourne ODI.

Australia 1 Aaron Finch, 2 Shaun Marsh, 3 Steven Smith (capt), 4 George Bailey, 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 James Faulkner, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 John Hastings, 9 Kane Richardson, 10 Scott Boland, 11 Joel Paris.

India 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shikhar Dhawan, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Ajinkya Rahane, 5 Manish Pandey, 6 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 R Ashwin, 9 Umesh Yadav, 10 Barinder Sran, 11 Ishant Sharma.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *