Amir returns, Astle debuts, NZ bowl

Toss New Zealand chose to bowl v Pakistan
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 07:20

Watch – Blackcaps crash Cornwall cricket club’s training

New Zealand won the toss and elected to bowl in the first T20I against Pakistan, at Eden Park.

Mohammad Amir made his international return in this match, having served a five-year suspension for spot-fixing. He was part of a formidable pace trio for Pakistan, alongside Wahab Riaz and Umar Gul, who played ahead of Anwar Ali. Umar Akmal featured in the top order after his one-match suspension was overturned on Wednesday. Sohaib Maqsood, who was hit in the neck during a nets session on the eve of the match, was fit to play, and will likely bat at no. 3.

Legspinner Todd Astle made his T20 debut for New Zealand, effectively replacing Ross Taylor who was being rested for this match. Mitchell Santner also provided a spin-bowling option in this XI. Fast bowler Matt Henry also came into the XI in place of Mitchell McClenaghan, who was ruled out with a niggle.

Good weather was expected for the duration of the match.

New Zealand: 1 Kane Williamson (capt), 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Colin Munro 4 Corey Anderson, 5 Grant Elliott, 6 Mitchell Santner, 7 Luke Ronchi (wk), 8 Todd Astle, 9 Adam Milne, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Trent Boult

Pakistan: 1 Ahmed Shehzad, 2 Mohammad Hafeez, 3 Sohaib Maqsood, 4 Shoaib Malik, 5 Umar Akmal, 6 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), 7 Shahid Afridi (capt), 8 Imad Wasim, 9 Umar Gul, 10 Wahab Riaz, 11 Mohammad Amir

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo’s Sri Lanka correspondent. @andrewffernando

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *