Anrich Nortje's chance to prove fitness during South Africa A tour of India

Fast bowler Anrich Nortje, who was sidelined from the World Cup with a fractured thumb, will have a chance to prove his fitness and form when he tours India from August 24 as part of the South Africa A one-day and four-day sides. Left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks, who was a late addition to South Africa’s World Cup squad as Dale Steyn’s replacement, also features in both the squads while the other Hendricks – Reeza – has been named in the one-day squad.

Temba Bavuma, who led the Lions to the CSA T20 challenge title last month, will lead the one-day side, while Aiden Markram will be in charge of the four-day side. This A tour might be a good prep for the international hopefuls to get a hang of Indian conditions before they tour the country again later this year with the senior squad.

South Africa will play three Tests in India in October this year, with all three games part of the ICC’s new Test Championship.

“This is one of the most important South Africa A tours we have planned for some time as it will focus on several important strategic areas,” selection convenor Linda Zondi said. “One of these is to broaden our leadership group and we see both Aiden and Temba playing an important role in this regard. We will be looking at other candidates during the course of the new season.

“Another is the opportunity to give some of our senior batsmen the chance to climatise for the Proteas Test match tour to India in October; and a third is to give opportunity to younger players who have earned their chance through outstanding performance at domestic level.”

Lutho Sipamla, who made a splash in the inaugural Mzansi Super League with his rapid yorkers and bouncers, and subsequently broke into South Africa’s T20I squad, will look to stake his claim for selection in the other two formats as well on this A tour.

All the five one-dayers will be played in Thiruvananthapuram before the action shifts to the four-dayers. Wayanad will host the first four-dayer and Mysuru the second – and last – game of the tour.

One-day squad: Temba Bavuma (capt), Matthew Breetzke, Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Theunis de Bruyn, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Janneman Malan, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Sinethemba Qeshile, Lutho Sipamla

Four-day squad: Aiden Markram (capt), Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Pieter Malan, Eddie Moore, Wiaan Mulder, Senuran Muthusamy, Anrich Nortje, Dane Piedt, Rudi Second, Lutho Sipamla, Khaya Zondo

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.