Miller, Beaton called up to West Indies ODI squad

© Ashley Allen – CPL T20 / Getty

Left-arm spinner Nikita Miller has been called-up to West Indies’ ODI squad for their three-match series against New Zealand later this month. Chris Gayle and Marlon Samuels, who were part of West Indies’ ODI team against England in September, kept their places in the squad. Uncapped fast bowler Ronsford Beaton also earned a spot in the 15-man squad.

Miller, who has played 46 ODIs and 9 T20s, last played for West Indies in the 2015 World Cup, against Zimbabwe. In the 2016-17 Regional Super50 – West Indies’ domestic 50-overs tournament – Miller picked up nine wickets in nine games, at an average of 32, but also had an economy rate of 3.67.

Beaton, who was included in the West Indies A squad for a home series against Sri Lanka A, impressed in this year’s Caribbean Premier League, taking 11 wickets in 10 games.

Fast bowler Rayad Emrit also earned a maiden call-up to a full-strength T20 squad that also included Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine. Samuel Badree, who was unavailable for West Indies’ prior T20 assignment in England, also made a return.

ODI squad: Jason Holder (capt.), Jason Mohammed, Sunil Ambris, Ronsford Beaton, Shannon Gabriel, Chris Gayle, Kyle Hope, Shai Hope (wk), Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Nikita Miller, Ashley Nurse, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Kesrick Williams

T20 squad: Carlos Brathwaite (capt.), Samuel Badree, Ronsford Beaton, Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Kesrick Williams

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.