Mushfiqur century lifts Bangladesh to 278

Never ever dreamt I’d play 100 ODIs – Miller (1:08)

Ahead of the milestone game, South Africa batsman David Miller looks back on his career and talks about his side’s preparations going into the ODI series against Bangladesh (1:08)

Toss Bangladesh chose to bat v South Africa

Mashrafe Mortaza called right at the toss in the first of three ODIs, and chose to bat in Kimberley – which is hosting it’s first ODI since 2013.

Opener Tamim Iqbal, who had been ruled out of the second Test due to a thigh injury but batted in the nets on Friday, was not passed fit to play the game. Fast bowler Mustafizur Rahman, too, missed out with injury after twisting his ankle during training on the eve of the game. Meanwhile, 20-year-old Mohammad Saifuddin, a seam-bowling allrounder, debuted in ODIs.

South Africa handed an ODI cap of their own to fast bowler Dane Paterson. As expected, AB de Villiers is back in action in internationals for the first time since June. This is Faf du Plessis’ first ODI series as full-time one-day captain of South Africa, after he took over from AB de Villiers in the format last month. The match also marks a landmark for batsman David Miller: it is his 100th ODI.

Bangladesh are coming off a thumping in the Test series, where they lost the two games by 333 runs and an innings and 254 runs.

South Africa: 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Faf du Plessis (capt), 4 JP Duminy, 5 AB de Villiers, 6 David Miller, 7 Dwaine Pretorius, 8 Andile Phehlukwayo, 9 Dane Paterson, 10 Kagiso Rabada, 11 Imran Tahir

Bangladesh: 1 Liton Das, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Nasir Hossain, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 9 Mohammad Saifuddin, 10 Taskin Ahmed, 11 Rubel Hossain

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.