Shakib inducted into MCC's World Cricket Committee

Shakib Al Hasan has become the first Bangladesh representative on the MCC’s World Cricket Committee. The allrounder is one of four new faces on the committee, the others being the New Zealand women captain Suzie Bates, the former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, and the former Sri Lanka offspinner and current ICC Elite Panel umpire Kumar Dharmasena.

Mike Gatting, meanwhile, has taken over as the committee’s chairman, replacing another former England captain in Mike Brearley.

“We’re delighted to welcome the four new members who will all have a great deal to offer the committee,” Gatting said. “Suzie is well respected around the world as one of the leading women’s players and will be able to give an insight into how to grow the game, particularly as a current player.

“Ian played with some of the biggest names that the West Indies have ever had in the game and having toured the globe as a commentator since retirement, he will be able to offer a view of the game as both a player and through the eyes of the media.

“Kumar’s experience as both an umpire and a player will be invaluable and as a member of the Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, will have first-hand experience of some of the global issues that are discussed in a committee.

“Shakib is the first Bangladeshi player to have joined the committee and has great experience of the world game across all formats, both domestically and internationally, and we look forward to his contributions along with the rest of the new additions.”

Apart from Brearley, the former West Indies captain Jimmy Adams and the former England women captain Charlotte Edwards have also relinquished their roles in the committee.

MCC World Cricket Committee: Mike Gatting (chairman), Vince van der Bijl, Brendon McCullum, Ian Bishop, Ramiz Raja, John Stephenson, Kumar Sangakkara, Kumar Dharmasena, Sourav Ganguly, Rod Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Suzie Bates, Tim May, Shakib Al Hasan.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.