South Africa bowl first; Roland-Jones handed England debut

South Africa won the toss and decided to bowl against England
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Toby Roland-Jones has been handed his debut after a late call-up to the squad © Getty Images

Toby Roland-Jones has been handed a maiden international cap in a much-changed England side for the final ODI of the series against South Africa at Lord’s. England have already taken an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series and have won their last eight ODIs.

With Ben Stokes (knee), Chris Woakes (quad) and Moeen Ali (groin) all suffering minor niggles and England choosing to rest seamers Mark Wood and Liam Plunkett, there are four changes to the line-up that won the second ODI in Southampton.

Steven Finn, Jonny Bairstow and David Willey also come into the side alongside seam-bowling all-rounder Roland-Jones who, as a Middlesex player, is no stranger to Lord’s.

England insist that none of the injury concerns are serious and say they expect to be able to select from a full-strength squad when their Champions Trophy campaign begins on Thursday.

There are also three changes to the South Africa side. Morne Morkel comes in alongside JP Duminy and Wayne Parnell. Farhaan Behardien, Dwaine Pretorius and Andile Phehlukwayo are the men to make way.

AB de Villiers has won the toss – for the third time in succession this series – and elected to bowl first on a pitch offering just a hint of green and on an overcast morning. Eoin Morgan, the England captain, admitted he would have done the same thing. With rain expected later, Duckworth-Lewis-Stern could well come into play.

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Alex Hales, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Jonny Bairstow, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Adil Rashid, 8 David Willey, 9 Toby Roland-Jones, 10 Jake Ball, 11 Steven Finn

South Africa 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 Hashim Amla, 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 AB de Villiers (capt), 5 David Miller, 6 JP Duminy, 7 Chris Morris, 8 Wayne Parnell, 9 Keshav Maharaj, 10 Kagiso Rabada, 11 Morne Morkel

George Dobell is a senior correspondent at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.