KSL – Final squad lists announcement

From a pool of over 200 potential players, the final 90 who will compete in the inaugural edition of the Kia Super League have been confirmed by the England and Wales Cricket Board.

Each of the Kia Super League teams has today named a playing squad of 15, which comprises three or four England women’s players, three overseas players, two or three England Women’s Academy players, and six or seven players who have been selected through a county talent identification process.

Following the unveiling of where the England women’s players would be based and which overseas players have been signed, today’s announcement reveals where the very best young talent from the England Women’s Academy will be on show this summer, alongside naming six former England players who will feature in the T20 competition.

Arran Brindle, Beth Morgan and Laura Newton, who retired from international duty in 2014, 2011 and 2007 respectively, will bring 330 international caps and a wealth of Ashes and World Cup winners’ experience to the Southern Vipers, Surrey Stars and Lancashire Thunder. Meanwhile Western Storm, Yorkshire Diamonds and Loughborough Lightning will be able to call on 2005 Women’s Ashes winner Rosalie Fairbairn (née Birch), left-arm seamer Laura Spragg and wicket-keeper Lauren Griffiths.

England women captain Charlotte Edwards will lead the Southern Vipers in the inaugural Kia Super League

Lancashire Thunder have also today announced that their third international signing will be hard-hitting West Indian top-order batsman, Hayley Matthews. Matthews won the player of the match award for her sparkling 66 off 45 balls during the recent ICC Women’s World Twenty20 final. She replaces Australia’s Jess Jonassen in the Thunder squad, after the all-rounder was ruled out of through injury.

ECB Director of England Women’s Cricket, Clare Connor, said: “The momentum behind the new Kia Super League continues to gather pace, and today marks another important milestone as we get set for the competition’s launch later this summer.

“The six squads are well balanced and full of quality, talent, youth and experience. It is excellent that we have been able to attract the likes of Arran Brindle, Beth Morgan and Laura Newton to play in the competition, alongside giving opportunities to exciting fresh faces from our Academy such as Sophie Ecclestone and Sophie Luff.

“Having former World Cup winners and Ashes winners involved will not only strengthen the standard of the competition on the field, it will also bring another level of insight and knowledge, which will assist with meeting our objective for the Kia Super League to bridge the gap between domestic and international cricket.

“With just over three months until the first Kia Super League group match between Yorkshire Diamonds and Loughborough Lightning at Headingley on Saturday 30th July, all six squads are now raring to go.”

Kia Super League 2016 Final Squad Lists


Lancashire Thunder


Kate Cross (EW)

Sarah Taylor (EW) (capt)

Danielle Wyatt (EW)

Sarah Coyte (O)

Deandra Dottin (O)

Hayley Matthews (O)

Sophie Ecclestone (EWA)

Emma Lamb (EWA)

Ellie Threlkeld (EWA)

Natalie Brown

Georgia Holmes

Laura Marshall

Natasha Miles

Laura Newton

Nalisha Patel


Loughborough Lightning


Georgia Elwiss (EW)

Rebecca Grundy (EW)

Amy Jones (EW)

Beth Langston (EW)

Sophie Devine (O)

Ellyse Perry (O)

Dane van Nierkerk (O)

Evelyn Jones (EWA)

Alex MacDonald (EWA)

Georgie Boyce

Thea Brookes

Amy Gauvrit

Lauren Griffiths

Sonia Odedra

Paige Scholfield



Southern Vipers


Charlotte Edwards (EW) (capt)

Natasha Farrant (EW)

Lydia Greenway (EW)

Suzie Bates (O)

Sara McGlashan (O)

Megan Schutt (O)

Georgia Adams (EWA)

Ellen Burt (EWA)

Katie George (EWA)

Arran Brindle

Isabelle Collis

Daisy Gardner

Alice Macleod

Fi Morris

Carla Rudd


Surrey Stars


Tammy Beaumont (EW)

Laura Marsh (EW)

Natalie Sciver (EW) (capt)

Rene Farrell (O)

Marizanne Kapp (O)

Meg Lanning (O)

Sophie Dunkley (EWA)

Alex Hartley (EWA)

Bryony Smith (EWA)

Aylish Cranstone

Grace Gibbs

Cordelia Griffith

Raveena Lakhtaria

Beth Morgan

Kirstie White



Western Storm


Heather Knight (EW) (capt)

Anya Shrubsole (EW)

Fran Wilson (EW)

Lizell Lee (O)

Rachel Priest (O)

Stafanie Taylor (O)

Freya Davies (EWA)

Sophie Luff (EWA)

Amara Carr

Jodie Dibble

Rosalie Fairbairn

Georgia Hennessy

Sophie Mackenzie

Cait O’Keefe

Izzy Westbury


Yorkshire Diamonds


Katherine Brunt (EW)

Jenny Gunn (EW)

Danielle Hazell (EW)

Lauren Winfield (EW) (capt)

Alex Blackwell (O)

Beth Mooney (O)

Shabnim Ismail (O)

Hollie Armitage (EWA)

Steph Butler (EWA)

Alice Davidson Richards

Teresa Graves

Katie Levick

Anna Nicholls

Laura Spragg

Katie Thompson


All players will receive a standardised match fee for each game that they compete in, plus expenses will be paid to all players throughout the preparation and competition phases.

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.