Boland and Bancroft win state awards

Scott Boland was part of Australia’s Test squad this summer as reward for his Sheffield Shield form © Getty Images

Victoria fast bowler Scott Boland and Western Australia batsman Cameron Bancroft have both taken home trophies at their state award ceremonies to cap off a summer in which they both made their international debut for Australia.

In Melbourne, Boland received the Bill Lawry Medal as Victoria’s best Sheffield Shield player in a season in which they won the title. Boland collected 33 wickets at 20.93 in the Shield campaign and was rewarded with a debut in Australia’s ODI and T20 teams in January, having been also been part of the Test squad earlier in the summer.

Spinner Jon Holland was handed the Dean Jones Medal as Victoria’s best Matador Cup player in a campaign that brought him 14 wickets at 17.85. The Melbourne Renegades BBL player of the Season was Dwayne Bravo, while Kevin Pietersen was named the BBL Player of the Season for the Melbourne Stars. Meg Lanning won the Sharon Tredrea Award and also took home the Melbourne Stars WBBL Player of the Season title, while Molly Strano was the Player of the Season for the Melbourne Renegades in the WBBL.

In Perth, opening batsman Bancroft claimed the Laurie Sawle Medal as Western Australia’s Player of the Year in a season that brought him 732 runs at 45.75 in the Sheffield Shield. Bancroft was named in Australia’s Test squad to tour Bangladesh at the start of the summer but the cancellation of that trip meant he had to wait until a T20 against India in January to make his Australia debut.

Bancroft also piled up 335 runs at 55.83 in the Matador Cup, but it was Shaun Marsh who was named WA’s one-day player of the year for his 390 runs at 65.00. Fast bowler Michael Hogan, with 37 wickets at 24.64 for the Warriors in his last season before his retirement from Australian first-class cricket, was named WA’s Sheffield Shield Player of the Year.

David Willey was the recipient of the Simon Katich Medal as the Perth Scorchers’ BBL Player of the Year. Nicole Bolton picked up the Zoe Goss Medal as the best women’s player for Western Australia, while the WBBL Perth Scorchers award went to Katherine Brunt.

In Hobart, Ben Dunk was honoured for a season in which he led all Sheffield Shield run scorers by being handed the Ricky Ponting Medal as Tasmania’s player of the season. Dunk also collected the Jack Simmons Medal as limited overs players of the hear, while Jackson Bird claimed the David Boon Medal as winner of the Shield award.

Dan Christian was garlanded with the Hobart Hurricanes MVP for his all-round displays in the BBL, and Heather Knight was recognised as the best Hurricane in the inaugural WBBL. Veronica Pyke was named the best WNCL cricketer for the Tasmania Roar.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.