Malinga blow for Sri Lanka

ICC World Twenty20 holders Sri Lanka have suffered a major blow with the news that Lasith Malinga has been ruled out of the tournament due to injury.

The paceman, who handed over the captaincy ahead of the World T20, has left India to return to Colombo due to a knee problem sustained during Sri Lanka’s recent Asia Cup campaign.

Leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay has been called up as a replacement.

Sri Lanka squad: Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Shelan Jayasuriya, Milinda Siriwardena, Dasun Shanaka, Chamara Kapugedara, Nuwan Kulasekera, Dushmantha Chameera, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Rangana Herath, Lahiru Thirimanne, Suranga Lakmal, Jeffrey Vandersay.

Lasith Malinga's knee injury is a major blow to Sri Lanka's hopes of defending the ICC World Twenty20

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.