England lose to Pakistan in Deaf ICC final

England will rue their failure to break a 116-run stand as Pakistan chased down 226 to win the Deaf ICC Championship final in Sharjah.

England captain Paul Allen won the toss and elected to bat, with the team sheet showing one change from the side that faced India as Lancashire debutant Jake Oakes replaced Dean Bedford.

England openers Alun Evans and Umesh Valjee found themselves under pressure early on with the former bowled for two by Ghani in the third over. 

England couldn't repeat their winning display from earlier in the tournament

James Schofield joined Valjee at the crease and added 14 runs before being dismissed lbw in the 15th over.

The incoming Sam Crichard steadied the innings with the experienced Valjee and the pair’s 94-run stand gave England hope of a large total.

Crichard was eventually run out for 54 in the 34th over and Valjee departed soon after having made 63 at almost a run-a-ball.

After Stephen George was caught out for three, Allen and Michael Wethersby gave the innings some much-needed impetus in a sixth-wicket stand of 77.

Wethersby was the last man to fall, bowled off the final ball of the innings, with Allen left unbeaten on 45 off 47 balls as England finished on 225 for six.

Pakistan started their chase well but George got the breakthrough in the ninth over with the wicket of Anjum to leave the score on 30 for one.

Allen struck two overs later but Waqas then joined proceedings and together he and opener Ahmed began to do damage.

England had to wait 25 overs for a breakthrough, when Evans bowled Ahmed for 67, and George gave England further hope when he bowled Waqas for 76 to leave Pakistan needing 45 to win off 53 balls.

Despite a wicket each for James Dixon and Allen, who finished with 3-54, Pakistan reached their target with eight balls to spare. 

England Deaf v Pakistan Deaf

Paul Allen (Derbyshire) – captain 
Umesh Valjee (Surrey)
Alun Evans (Wales)
Jake Oakes (Lancashire)
Matt Clinton (Yorkshire)
Michael Wethersby (Wales)
Jimmy Dixon (Lancashire)
James Schofield (Wales)
Luke Hughes (Lancashire)
Sam Crichard (Herefordshire)
Stephen George (Devon)

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.