Ireland choose to bat against Oman

Toss Ireland chose to bat v Oman
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Ireland picked Craig Young in their pace attack and left out George Dockrell © Matthew Lewis-IDI/ID

Ireland captain William Porterfield chose to bat, unlike what Netherlands did earlier in the day on the same ground, in their opening match of the World T20 against Oman in Dharamsala. Porterfield did not give any specific reasons behind his decision, apart from, “When the lights come out the temperature drops.”

Ireland picked right-arm quick Craig Young in their three-pronged pace attack, and offspinner Andy McBrine. They left out left-arm spinner George Dockrell and Andy Balbirnie.

Oman captain Sultan Ahmed backed his bowling attack, with “good spinners and pacers”. Bowling first, they would not have to face the dew factor if it comes into play later in the evening.

Ireland 1 William Porterfield (capt), 2 Paul Stirling, 3 Andrew Poynter, 4 Niall O’Brien, 5 Gary Wilson (wk), 6 Kevin O’Brien, 7 Andrew McBrine, 8 Max Sorensen, 9 Tim Murtagh, 10 Boyd Rankin, 11 Craig Young

Oman 1 Zeeshan Maqsood, 2 Jatinder Singh, 3 Ajay Lalcheta, 4 Adnan Ilyas, 5 Aamir Kaleem, 6 Sultan Ahmed (capt & wk), 7 Mehran Khan, 8 Aamer Ali, 9 Khawar Ali, 10 Munis Ansari, 11 Bilal Khan

Vishal Dikshit is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.