Championship cut to 14 matches; T20 back to mid-summer block

The County Championship will be reshaped for 2017 © Getty Images

The County Championship will be trimmed to 14 rounds in 2017, with a top division of eight teams a second of 10, while the NatWest T20 Blast will revert to mid-summer blocks but any more radical changes to the T20 have been put on hold with the tournament remaining in regional blocks with Finals Day.

In order to reach the two Championship structure, only one team will be promoted this season and two relegated before returning to two-up, two-down in 2017.

The Royal London Cup, the 50-over tournament, will have its group matches earlier in the season during April and May before a final in July to free up the middle part of the summer for the T20 to try to take advantage of the school holidays.

More to follow

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.