India vs Bangladesh – Live Cricket Score, Asia Cup T20 Final, 2016: Rain Stops In Mirpur, No Overs Might Be Lost

Heavy rain lashed Mirpur in the Asia Cup final between Bangladesh and India. Will the rain relent before the cut-off time? Catch all the live cricket score and live updates of the match here. (Live Scorecard | News | Photos | Videos | World Twenty20)

19:46 hrs IST: Most of the covers have been removed. The umpires will have a look at 20:00 hrs IST and after that, there will be a clear picture as to whether a full match will be played or will overs be deducted.

19:45 hrs IST: For Bangladesh, this is a great chance to win some silverware in front of their home fans. In the 2012 Asia Cup, they had lost to Pakistan by two runs. The fans will be hoping that history does not repeat itself.

19:37 hrs IST: With hopes floating of a full match, there has been plenty of spice before the grand final. On social media, there has been an objectionable picture of MS Dhoni’s chopped head being held by Taskin Ahmed. Here is the story.

19:30 hrs IST: Faf du Plessis has played a captain’s knock in the Johannesburg Twenty20 match. His 41-ball 79, including five fours and five sixes, have helped South Africa to 204/7.

19:27 hrs IST: This is incredible. Despite the apocalyptic storm, the match might begin soon. Most of the covers are coming off and the damage is not that much. We might not see any overs getting cut.

19:22 hrs IST: In Johannesburg, Faf du Plessis has scored his seventh Twenty20 fifty as South Africa continue to punish Australia.

19:18 hrs IST: The rain has stopped in Mirpur. The ground-staff are now working furiously to ensure that they limit the damage.

Rain Mirpur 0603
Heavy rain forced the toss to be delayed in Mirpur in the Asia Cup final.


19:13 hrs IST: The big screen, which was partially damaged in the storm, is working. However, the rain has not relented in Mirpur. The intensity of the rain has also eased off and some covers are being removed.

19:05 hrs IST: Meanwhile, in Johannesburg, Faf du Plessis and David Miller have put South Africa on course for a big score. After 15 overs, the Proteas are 142/4.

19:01 hrs IST: It continues to rain in Mirpur. The ground has wonderful drainage facilities but for the ground-staff to begin their work, it must stop raining completely.

18:52 hrs IST: The latest visuals show a grim situation in Mirpur. There are plenty of puddles on the outfield and the rain is steady. The cut-off time for a five-over game is 22:17 hrs IST. There will be an update at 20:00 hrs IST.

Heavy rain Mirpur Asia Cup 0603
Heavy rain delayed the toss during the final of the Asia Cup between India and Bangladesh in Mirpur.


18:36 hrs IST: The rain has reduced slightly. However, the condition of the outfield is not great. Overs will start getting reduced from 20:00 hrs IST while the cut-off time for a five-over match is 22:10 hrs IST.

18:32 hrs IST: The latest visuals sum up the chaos at Mirpur when the rain lashed down. Apparently, there is only one floodlight working at the venue. The official Twitter handle of BCCI have put out this update.

18:25 hrs IST: This rain on final’s day has evoked memories of the 2002 Champions Trophy clash between India and Sri Lanka in Colombo. Rain spoiled the final day and the reserve day and the trophy was shared.

18:19 hrs IST: While we wait for the storm to subside in Mirpur, over in Johannesburg, South Africa have gotten off to a fast start but they have lost AB de Villiers cheaply against Australia.

18:13 hrs: The lights have come back on in Mirpur but the rain is absolutely lashing down. The drainage at the Sher-e-Bangla is good but will the rain relent?

18:08 hrs IST: Latest visuals from Dhaka do not show a pretty picture. It is dark and it is raining in Mirpur.

18:03 hrs IST: In case the match gets washed out, the trophy will be shared. There is NO reserve day.

17:56 hrs IST: To compound matters even further, the lights have gone out at the stadium. The rain has only gotten heavier.

17:54 hrs IST: A warm welcome to one and all for the final between Bangladesh and India from Mirpur. Bad news to begin with. A dust storm has enveloped the Sher-e-Bangla and the ground has been lashed by heavy rain. The covers are in place and things are not looking good for a prompt start at 18:30 hrs IST.

MS Dhoni Bangladesh 2504
Mahendra Singh Dhoni will be hoping to continue India’s winning streak while Mashrafe Mortaza will be determined to add some silverware.


Bangladesh are hoping to cause a major upset in the Asia Cup final at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur by stopping India’s hot streak. The hostility by the Bangladesh fans on social media has already added plenty of spice to this contest.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s men are on a roll with nine wins out of 10 since the the start of the T20 series against Australia. However, the 11th match will be a tricky test more so because it is being played on Bangladeshi soil. (Photo of Dhoni’s Chopped Head Being Held by Bangladesh Pacer on Twitter Goes Viral)

India defeated the UAE by nine wickets on Thursday to end the league phase with a 100 percent success rate. Bangladesh have executed a turnaround following their 45-run loss to India in the opening game of the tournament. They bounced back winning the next three to qualify for the final.

While India are back to full strength, their only concern remains is Shikhar Dhawan and Suresh Raina’s batting form. India will bring back rested Ashish Nehra, Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin for the final, while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi and Harbhajan Singh will return to warm the bench once again.

In Bangladesh, the form of two of their best players Mushfiqur Rahim and Shakib Al Hasan will be a worry, but more than that Shakib’s availability will be cause of concern after the all-rounder limped off practice session with thigh injury.


# Bangladesh have qualified for the Asia Cup final only once in 2012, when they lost to Pakistan at home by just two runs.

# India are the five-time champions. India’s winning meets were all held in the previous 50-over one-day international format.


Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Imrul Kayes, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Taskin Ahmed Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny.

India: MS Dhoni (capt), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra.

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *