World T20 past winners

Nobody has ever won the ICC World Twenty20 twice – can England make history by becoming the first country to do so in India this month?

Sri Lanka have made the final in the last two tournaments held in the sub-continent, including winning the tournament in Dhaka in 2014 under the stewardship of now England Assistant Coach Paul Farbrace.

The hosts and Pakistan will also fancy their chances in favourable conditions but, as we know with T20, nothing is straightforward.

Here looks back at the five previous T20 finals.

2007 – India beat Pakistan by five runs in Johannesburg.

Misbah-ul-Haq threatened to steal the show at the Wanderers as he single-handedly hauled Pakistan into contention in a memorable first World T20 final.

With the required rate well into double figures in the final overs, the batsman launched into Harbhajan Singh, hitting a succession of sixes before holing out in the final over with just six runs needed as Pakistan fell cruelly short of the 158-run target.

Yuvraj Singh made history earlier in the tournament by taking Stuart Broad for 36 in one over, but the left-hander was frustrated in the final and Gautam Ghambhir was left to play the decisive role, top-scoring with 75 at the top of the order.

The final wicket of Misbah-ul-Haq sparks wild celebrations among the India players as they win the inaugural World Twenty20


2009 – Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by eight wickets at Lord’s.

Pakistan made up for the disappointment of two years previous with a resounding win at Lord’s in 2009, as Shahid Afridi produced a virtuoso performance, taking 1-20 and hitting an unbeaten 54 in an easy win.

Tillakaratne Dilshan made the ‘Dilscoop’ famous during the tournament, but after he was dismissed without scoring in the first over, Sri Lanka were always swimming against the tide.

Kumar Sangakkara hit an unbeaten half-century but Abdul Razzaq checked their progress with 3-20 as Sri Lanka could only post 138, which was never likely to be enough as Pakistan maintained their excellent record in the shortest format.

Tillakaratne Dilshan fails in the 2009 final but made his mark on the competition with the unorthodox 'Dilscoop' shot


2010 – England beat Australia by seven wickets at Bridgetown.

Craig Kieswetter was the hero for England as they claimed a maiden world title by beating fierce rivals Australia in the Caribbean.

A disciplined bowling performance from Ryan Sidebottom and Graeme Swann was countered by a belligerent half-century from David Hussey, but an in-form England were always likely to chase down the target of 148.

They lost Michael Lumb early on, but Kieswetter joined Kevin Pietersen, who was named man of the tournament with 248 runs in six innings, to take England to the brink of victory with a 111-run partnership before captain Paul Collingwood hit the winning runs.

Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen hit a 111-run partnership in the final as England cantered to victory over Australia


2012 – West Indies beat Sri Lanka by 36 runs in Colombo.

At one stage it looked like being a disappointing, one-sided final. That was until Marlon Samuels rose to the challenge of West Indies being 32 for two at the halfway stage to hit 78 and help post a competitive total of 137 for six.

Ajantha Mendis took 4-12 in four overs but he was overshadowed by the brilliance of Samuels, who struck six sixes before captain Darren Sammy steered his side in with an unbeaten 26.

Dilshan’s bad luck in finals continued with another duck, and the Caribbean outfit ran with the momentum as they skittled the Sri Lanka middle-order – just three players made double figures – before claiming a remarkable 36-run win against the hosts in Colombo.

Marlon Samuels leads West Indies' celebrations after a brilliant solo performance turned the final on its head


2014 – Sri Lanka beat India by six wickets in Dhaka

After twice being the bridesmaids, it was finally Sri Lanka’s turn to be crowned champions as Paul Farbrace guided them to a maiden T20 triumph in Dhaka.

India’s stars of the tournament – Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma – again sparkled for the 2007 winners but the innings which proved to have the biggest influence on the result was Yuvraj Singh, who scratched around for a 21-ball 11 that denied India a competitive total.

Despite the frailties of the previous tournament, Sri Lanka coasted to victory inside 18 overs, with veteran batsman Kumar Sangakkara steering his side home with an unbeaten 52.

Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene celebrate with the World T20 trophy in their final tournament before retirement

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.