Pakistan opt to bat in must-win game, bring in Anwar Ali

Toss Pakistan chose to bat v Bangladesh
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo – Pakistan brought in Anwar Ali in place of left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz © Associated Press

Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi decided to bat on a barren pitch in Mirpur in their crucial Asia Cup game against Bangladesh. Mashrafe Mortaza, the Bangladesh captain, said he would have batted first, too.

Tamim Iqbal returned to the Bangladesh XI after completing his paternity leave in Bangkok. He replaced Nurul Hasan, while the injured Mustafizur Rahman was replaced by Arafat Sunny. Mushfiqur Rahim took over the keeping gloves for the game.

Pakistan made one change, bringing in pace bowler Anwar Ali in place of left-arm spinner Mohammad Nawaz who made his T20I debut against UAE.

The flat deck, almost devoid of grass, lifted hopes of a high-scoring contest, which has not been seen in the tournament so far.

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Mohammad Mithun, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 9 Al-Amin Hossain, 10 Arafat Sunny, 11 Taskin Ahmed

Pakistan: 1 Sharjeel Khan, 2 Mohammad Hafeez, 3 Khurram Manzoor, 4 Umar Akmal, 5 Shoaib Malik, 6 Shahid Afridi (capt), 7 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), 8 Mohammad Sami, 9 Mohammad Amir, 10 Anwar Ali, 11 Mohammad Irfan

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *