Ranji Trophy: Madhya Pradesh Have Mountain to Climb Against Mumbai

Abhishek Nayar Mumbai Ranji
Abhishek Nayar scored an unbeaten 73 against Madhya Pradesh.



Madhya Pradesh were left to chase a mammoth 571-run target after Mumbai’s Suryakumar Yadav and Aditya Tare completed their centuries on day four of the Ranji Trophy semifinal here on Tuesday. (Read more cricket stories here)

Forty-time champions Mumbai Ranji Trophy are on the brink of entering another final after they reduced Madhya Pradesh to 99/2 at stumps, needing another 472 runs for an improbable win.

Mumbai, who started their second innings on 285 for three, went on to make 426 courtesy Yadav (115), Tare (109) and Abhishek Nayar (73 not out). Both Yadav and Tare were in their 90s when they came out to batting in the morning.

Ishwar Pandey and Harpreet Singh picked up three wickets each for Madhya Pradesh.

Coming out to pull off a herculean task, Aditya Shrivastava kept the innings going with an unbeaten 53, and the experienced Naman Ojha batting at the other end.

Saurashtra have already made the final, having thrashed Assam by 10 wickets in Vadodara.

Brief scores: Mumbai 371 and 426 (Aditya Tare 103, Suryakumar Yadav 115, Abhishek Nayar 73; Ishwar Pandey 3/103). Madhya Pradesh 227 and 99/2 in 32 overs.

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.