Broad back as SA win toss and field

Toss South Africa won the toss and chose to bowl first against England
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 02:09

Stopping de Kock vital in predicted run-fest

Stuart Broad returns to the England side for the first time since the 2015 World Cup.

Broad was dropped from the white-ball sides after a disappointing tournament in Australia and New Zealand and also missed out on selection for England’s World T20 squad, announced earlier this week.

But he has never made any secret of his desire to return and has often stated his ambition to feature in the ICC Champions Trophy, in 2017, and the World Cup, in 2019. Both those events will be held in England.

Broad enjoyed an excellent Test on this ground less than a month ago, where he claimed 6 for 17 in the second innings to help England secure the series.

He may find conditions less helpful this time, though. There is a painfully short boundary on one side of the ground and the pitch appears to lack the cracks he exploited so well during the Test.

Broad replaces David Willey in the side for this match, while Chris Woakes, who was also omitted from the World T20 squad, returns to the England side in place of Chris Jordan, who has taken one wicket in 17.3 overs in the series, at an average of 143 and an economy rate of 8.17. Both Jordan and Willey were named in the World T20 squad.

South Africa also made a change, bringing in Chris Morris for Morne Morkel in an attempt to strengthen their batting. AB de Villiers has won the toss and inserted England, reasoning that conditions would favour the chasing team under lights, just as they did at Centurion earlier in the week.

England, with a 2-1 lead going into this match, could wrap up the five-match series if they win today.

South Africa 1 Hashim Amla, 2 Quinton de Kock (wk), 3 Faf du Plessis, 4 AB de Villiers (capt), 5 JP Duminy, 6 Farhaan Behardien, 7 David Wiese, 8 Kagiso Rabada, 9 Kyle Abbott, 10 Chris Morris, 11 Imran Tahir

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Alex Hales, 3 Joe Root, 4 Eoin Morgan (capt), 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Jos Buttler (wk), 7 Moeen Ali, 8 Chris Woakes, 9 Adil Rashid, 10 Stuart Broad, 11 Reece Topley

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *