Van Beek back for Netherlands

Netherlands have brought all-rounder Logan van Beek back in front the cold for the World Twenty20 in India.

The 25-year-old, who has recently been playing in New Zealand for Canterbury, has not represented the Dutch since playing seven matches in the last World T20 in Bangladesh in 2014.

Michael Swart, Tim Gruijters, Tom Heggelman and Eric Szwarczynski were all part of the squad for the World T20 two years ago, but have failed to retain their places.

Coach Anton Roux said: “After a very successful tour of the UAE, I am happy to announce an exciting group of Dutch cricketers that will represent the Netherlands in India at the WT20.

“This group has shown an immense amount of commitment to what we are trying to achieve on the field of play, and to continue playing our brand of cricket.”

Netherlands squad: Wesley Barresi, Logan van Beek, Peter Borren, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Timm van der Gugten, Vivian Kingma, Ahsan Malik, Paul van Meekeren, Roelof van der Merwe, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar, Sikander Zulfiqar.

Logan van Beek played seven matches for Netherlands in the previous World Twenty20 in Bangladesh in 2014

Meanwhile, Hong Kong have named former Australia one-day international Ryan Campbell in their 15-man squad.

The 44-year-old played two ODIs for Australia, against New Zealand and Sri Lanka, in 2002.

Campbell, who moved to Hong Kong in 2012 to become the head coach of Kowloon Cricket Club, said: “I’m pretty nervous to be honest.

“I’m there to mentor them as I have done for so long … It has been a while (since I played international cricket), but if you look at my numbers I think I’m still one of the best batsmen in Hong Kong.”

Hong Kong will again be led by Tanwir Afzal with Mark Chapman taking on the role of vice-captain.

Hong Kong squad: Tanwir Afzal, Mark Chapman, Haseeb Amjad, Nadeem Ahmed, Tanveer Ahmed, James Atkinson, Waqas Barkat, Ryan Campbell, Christopher Carter, Babar Hayat, Nizakat Khan, Aizaz Khan, Waqas Khan, Kinchit Shah, Anshuman Rath.  

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.