West Indies Under-19 bowler Keemo Paul ‘Mankaded’ last Zimbabwe batsman Richard Ngarava in the final over to help his side progress to the quarter-finals of the ongoing World Cup in Dhaka on Tuesday under controversial circumstances. (Latest Cricket News)
The word ‘Mankad’ came from an incident that happened during India’s tour of Australia on December 13, 1947, in the second Test at Sydney. India’s Vinoo Mankad ran out Bill Brown when, in the act of delivering the ball, he held on to it and removed the bails with Brown well out of his crease.
Since this incident, a batsman dismissed in this fashion is (informally) said to have been Mankaded.
On Tuesday, Zimbabwe needed three runs to win with just one wicket remaining when fast bowler Paul began the final over of what was a thrilling match.
As Paul approached the wicket to bowl the first ball of the over, non-striker Ngarava began to slowly walk out of his crease in quest for a quick single.
But instead of starting his delivery stride as he ran past the wicket, Paul quickly removed the bails with the ball in his right hand and appealed for a run out.
The umpires conferred and asked the West Indies if they wanted to withdraw the appeal, which they declined to do, so the officials referred the decision to the third umpire.
The TV official reviewed the footage and correctly ruled that Ngarava was just out of his ground when the bails were removed.
The decision handed the West Indies a two-run win and a spot in the quarter-finals, while it also ended Zimbabwe’s tournament.
Zimbabwe captain Brandon Mavuta was very upset after the match but refused to comment on the incident.
“We got so close, no comment about it. I don’t have anything to say right now. No comment,” Mavuta said.
West Indies captain Shimron Hetmyer said he was comfortable with his decision to not withdraw the appeal.
“I would say yes, cricket is a game of uncertainties. We’ve seen it happen in cricket before. It’s not a big deal for us,” Hetmyer said.
— Darren Lehmann (@darren_lehmann) February 2, 2016
Right or wrong, just a sad way to end a good game especially with so much on the line #winatallcosts????
— Stephen Fleming (@SPFleming7) February 2, 2016
Disgraceful behaviour in the U19CWC. WI’s should be embarrassed!!
— Eoin Morgan (@Eoin16) February 2, 2016
Can’t believe what I’ve just seen! Embarrassing! #CWCU19
— Jos Buttler (@josbuttler) February 2, 2016
However, the West Indies also received some support from some players and experts.
Smart play WIU19 keep pounding boys .
— Tino95 (@tinobest) February 2, 2016
Amazed that the spirit of the game never comes up when batsmen hit the ball and stay on but does when a bowler mankads a batsman….
— Harsha Bhogle (@bhogleharsha) February 2, 2016