Khawaja, Bancroft debut as Australia choose to bat

Toss: Australia chose to bowl v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Shaun Tait returned to Australia’s side after missing the second T20I in Melbourne © Getty Images

Australia’s stand-in captain Shane Watson chose to bat against India in the third Twenty20 match at the SCG after the visitors wrapped up the series in Melbourne.

The hosts made another five changes to their team, bringing in Usman Khawaja and the part-time wicketkeeper Cameron Bancroft for their debuts, while dropping James Faulkner, Nathan Lyon and John Hastings for Travis Head, Cameron Boyce and Shaun Tait. Matthew Wade and the injured regular captain Aaron Finch were the other two players to miss out.

India fielded an unchanged side for the third consecutive match, on a sunny evening in Sydney on a pitch that looked brimful of runs.

Australia: 1 Usman Khawaja, 2 Shane Watson (capt), 3 Chris Lynn, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Shaun Marsh, 6 Travis Head, 7 Cameron Bancroft (wk), 8 Andrew Tye, 9 Cameron Boyce, 10 Scott Boland, 11 Shaun Tait

India: 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 5 Suresh Raina, 6 Yuvraj Singh, 7 Hardik Pandya, 8 Ravindra Jadeja, 9 R Ashwin, 10 Jasprit Bumrah, 11 Ashish Nehra

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.