McCullum returns, Pakistan choose to bat

Toss Pakistan chose to bat v New Zealand
Live scorecard and-ball-by-ball details

Luke Ronchi received a late call-up for the third ODI after BJ Watling was ruled out © AFP

Pakistan won the toss and chose to bat first in the third ODI at Eden Park. They had also batted first in the only match they have won on tour so far, at the same venue. Brendon McCullum, who returned after a four-week injury layoff, said his team wanted to bowl anyway.

Pakistan made three changes to the XI that lost at Basin Reserve. Shoaib Malik came back into the middle order after recovering from a foot injury, displacing Sohaib Maqsood. Batsman Mohammad Rizwan also replaced allrounder Imad Wasim, and Rahat Ali came in for Anwar Ali, which meant each of Pakistan’s four quicks are left-armers.

Wicketkeeper batsman BJ Watling had been scheduled to play this match for New Zealand, but had suffered from a sore back after training on Saturday. He was ruled out, and Luke Ronchi flew in from Wellington to take his place. Mitchell McClenaghan was ruled out with a fracture above his eye, and Adam Milne played in his stead. Martin Guptill’s rolled ankle was not serious enough to keep him out of this match.

The sun was shining brightly at the toss, but there are some light showers forecast for the early afternoon.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Brendon McCullum (capt), 3 Kane Williamson, 4 Henry Nicholls, 5 Grant Elliott, 6 Corey Anderson, 7 Luke Ronchi (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Adam Milne, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Trent Boult.

Pakistan 1 Azhar Ali (capt.), 2 Ahmed Shehzad, 3 Mohammad Hafeez, 4 Babar Azam, 5 Shoaib Malik, 6 Mohammad Rizwan, 7 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), 8 Wahab Riaz, 9 Mohammad Amir, 10 Rahat Ali, 11 Mohammad Irfan

Andrew Fidel Fernando is ESPNcricinfo’s Sri Lanka correspondent. @andrewffernando

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *