Unmukt Chand's Half-Century Takes India B Into Deodhar Trophy Final

India B captain Unmukt Chand’s 63-run innings included eight fours.


Kanpur: India B captain Unmukt Chand scored a half-century to steer his team to a seven-run win over Gujarat and make the final of the Deodhar Trophy here on Tuesday. (Ambati Rayudu, Unmukt Chand to Lead India ‘A’ and ‘B’ in Deodhar Trophy)

Put into bat, India B scored 280 for eight with Chand (63), Suryakumar Yadav (47) and Stuart Binny (41) chipping in with crucial runs.

In reply, Gujarat fell short by seven runs, getting bundled out for 273 in 49.3 overs, despite Chirag Gandhi coming up with a brilliant unbeaten century.

Earlier, India B lost opener Mayank Agarwal (0) and Shreyas Iyer (17) early, but the other opener in Chand continued with his fine form to score a 70-ball 63, which included eight hits to the fence, to provide a solid platform for the team.

Later Yadav and Binny put on an 81-run stand for the sixth wicket to enable India B post a competitive total. For Gujarat, Mehul Patel was the pick of the bowlers with figures of three for 69.

Chasing 281 for victory, Gujarat lost their top order cheaply to be reeling at 47 for three, before skipper Manpreet Juneja (50) and Rujul Bhatt (45) steadied the boat.

The duo shared a 78-run partnership for the fourth wicket but both the batsmen fell in quick succession with Gujarat scorecard reading 148 for five.

But Gandhi came to the team’s rescue and single-handedly almost bailed the team out of trouble, even as wickets kept falling at the other end.

Ultimately, Gandhi’s efforts went in vain as he was left stranded at 100 off just 77 balls, that he scored with the help of 12 boundaries and three sixes.

Dhawal Kulkarni (2/21), Karn Sharma (2/56) and Binny (2/60) took two wickets each for India B. Gujarat will take on India A here tomorrow.

Brief scores: India B: 280/8 in 50 overs (Unmukt Chand 63, Suryakumar Yadav 47, Stuart Binny 41; Mehul Patel 3/69). Gujarat: 273 all out in 49.3 overs (Chirag Gandhi 100 not out, Manpreet Juneja 50; Dhawal Kulkarni 2/21).

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.