Raina and spinners hand UP maiden T20 title

Uttar Pradesh 163 for 7 (Prashant 49, Raina 47, Bhargav 2-12) beat Baroda 125 for 7 (Rajpoot 3-30, Kuldeep 2-12) by 38 runsScorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo: Kuldeep Yadav and his variations were too much for Baroda © ICC

Uttar Pradesh brushed Baroda aside to win their maiden Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy by 38 runs. Defending a par score of 163, UP snatched control and never lost it in the middle overs as left-arm chinaman bowler Kuldeep Yadav and legspinner Piyush Chawla beguiled the opposition with variations.

Having made the final in 2013-14, UP were hungry to put their name on the trophy. Baroda, two-time champions, elected to field and would have fancied a third title. They had been victors at the Wankhede stadium in two Super League matches and like then, Baroda were chasing again. But UP proved smarter and emerged as champions with a flawless record this season – eight matches, eight victories.

Full report to follow

Nagraj Gollapudi is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *