McKenna in Ireland's World T20 squad

Unbeaten Ireland were victorious at the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier © ICC

Ireland have named their squad for the World T20, adding batsman Kate McKenna to the 14 who secured a place at the tournament by winning the ICC Qualifier late last year.

Isobel Joyce will captain the side, who have been drawn against Australia, the reigning champions, New Zealand, South Africa and Sri Lanka in Group A.

“We’ve gone with the fourteen who performed so well out at the qualifying tournament in Thailand, with Kate McKenna also coming into the squad,” head coach Aaron Hamilton said. “Kate is an electric fielder, which is so important in the T20 game, and she will also bolster our batting line-up.”

Cricket Ireland has also made a further coaching appointment for the World T20, which takes place in India in March, by bringing in former Australia wicketkeeper Julia Price – who played 10 Tests and 84 ODIs between 1996 and 2005 – as an assistant alongside Alex Cusack.

“It’s great to have Julia joining our support staff for the World T20,” Hamilton said. “Julia brings a wealth of knowledge and coaching experience to the group.”

Ireland women squad: Isobel Joyce (capt), Catherine Dalton, Laura Delany, Kim Garth, Jennifer Gray, Cecelia Joyce, Shauna Kavanagh, Amy Kenealy, Gaby Lewis, Robyn Lewis, Ciara Metcalfe, Kate McKenna, Lucy O’Reilly, Clare Shillington, Mary Waldron.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *