Australia field, India name two debutants

Toss Australia chose to field v India
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Play 04:26

Chappell: Don’t see India winning while chasing either

Steven Smith won the toss and chose not to change a winning formula, sending India in to bat in the third ODI at the MCG. Australia have won the first two matches by chasing and Smith said on a pitch that looked dry and would get better under lights, he had confidence in his batting order to secure a series win by doing the same again.

Australia made one change to their line-up, with allrounder Mitchell Marsh back in after resting from the second match at the Gabba. Joel Paris was squeezed out to accommodate Marsh. Opener David Warner remains on paternity leave, so Shaun Marsh and Aaron Finch will again open the batting.

India made two changes, including two debutants. Gurkeerat Singh was included at the expense of Manish Pandey, and Rishi Dhawan was named to replace R Ashwin. After the loss in Brisbane, MS Dhoni had said it would be difficult to squeeze Rishi Dhawan into the side, but the selectors found a way to do so two days later.

Australia 1 Aaron Finch, 2 Shaun Marsh, 3 Steven Smith (capt), 4 George Bailey, 5 Glenn Maxwell, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 James Faulkner, 9 John Hastings, 10 Kane Richardson, 11 Scott Boland.

India 1 Shikhar Dhawan, 2 Rohit Sharma, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Ajinkya Rahane, 5 MS Dhoni (capt & wk), 6 Gurkeerat Singh, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Rishi Dhawan, 9 Barinder Sran, 10 Ishant Sharma, 11 Umesh Yadav.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *