Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo and Darren Sammy Dropped From West Indies Cricket Board Contracts List

Dwayne Bravo Darren Sammy

Darren Sammy, who led the West Indies to the World Twenty20 title in 2012 and Dwayne Bravo have not been included in the WICB contracts list for 2015/16.


West Indies’ Twenty20 captain Darren Sammy and all-rounders Dwayne Bravo and Andre Russell have been dropped from the list of centrally contracted players by the WICB for the season 2015-2016. (Dwayne Bravo Calls West Indies Cricket Board Too Political)

Sammy last played for West Indies in the T20s against Sri Lanka in November last year. Globe trotting T20 specialist Russell had played both the ODIs and T20s against Sri Lanka. (West Indies Board Silent on Omission of Dwayne Bravo and Kieron Pollard)

Also to miss out in the newly-contracted list, which was increased from 12 to 15 players, are left-arm spinner Sulieman Benn and senior batsman Shivnarine Chanderpaul.

Controversial big-hitting batsman Chris Gayle, who had turned down WICB contracts more than once including last year, also doesn’t feature in the list.

Mystery spinner Sunil Narine, who had also turned down the offer last year, also missed out. He is currently suspended from bowling in international cricket due to an illegal action.

The newly-contracted list has several new players including Jermaine Blackwood, Leon Johnson, Shane Dowrich, Shai Hope and Rajendra Chandrika. Leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo and fast bowlers Shannon Gabriel and Sheldon Cottrell also found places in the new list.

The contracts have been issued for the period from October 1, 2015 to September 30, 2016.

Contracted players list for 2015-2016: Jason Holder, Kraigg Brathwaite, Rajendra Chandrika, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Devendra Bishoo, Shannon Gabriel, Jermaine Blackwood, Jerome Taylor, Sheldon Cottrell, Shai Hope, Shane Dowrich, Leon Johnson, Kemar Roach.

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *