Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy: Robin Uthappa, Stuart Binny Guide Karnataka to Victory

Robin Uthappa was part of India squad in the Zimbabwe tour.

Robin Uthappa scored a quick-fire 48 to help Karnataka beat Odisha.


Opener Robin Uthappa and Stuart Binny made short work of a modest chase to add to the team’s bowling effort as Karnataka outplayed Odisha by six wickets in the Group D Twenty20 cricket match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy in Cuttack. (Read More in Cricket)

If medium-pacer Abhimanyu Mithun and leg-spinners Shreyas Gopal and KC Cariappa, sharing two wickets each, set up the win for Karnataka then the 53-run fourth-wicket partnership between Uthappa (48) and Binny (32 not out) helped the R Vinay Kumar-led side achieve the target in 17.5 overs.

Uthappa smashed six fours and a six in his 41-ball stay, while Binny’s 30-ball knock was laced with two fours and a six.

Leg-spinner Tukuna Sahoo bagged two wickets, while Deepak Behera and Basant Mohanty picked up a wicket each.

Earlier put into bat, Odisha suffered from lack of partnerships against a disciplined Karnataka attack to stumble to 102 for seven in 20 overs.

Abhishek Yadav top-scored with 31 runs as the rest of the batting disappointed.

Brief Scores:

Odisha 102/7 in 20 overs (Abhishek Yadav 31, Biplab Samantray 19; Abhimanyu Mithun 2-13, Shreyas Gopal 2-15, KC Cariappa 2-14)

Karnataka 106/4 in 17.5 overs (Robin Uthappa 48, Stuart Binny 32 not out; Tukuna Sahoo 2-17)

Uttar Pradesh notch comfortable win over Services

Skipper Eklavya Dwivedi top-scored with a 53-ball 89 as Uttar Pradesh notched up a comfortable 57-run win over Services in the national T20 championship in Cuttack.

Sent into bat, Uttar Pradesh posted 182 for six in 20 overs at the Barabati Stadium, and then restricted Services to 125 for nine.

Dwivedi smashed eight boundaries and five sixes during his stay in the middle, besides putting on 109 runs for the third wicket with opener Prashant Gupta (43) in 12 overs.

Gupta found the fence six times, before Saurabh Dubey scored an unbeaten, quickfire 38 off 17 balls with the help of two fours and three sixes.

Raushan Raj was the most successful bowler for Services, returning figures of 3/42 in his quota of four overs.

In reply, Services struggled in their chase and, with the exception of Yashpal Singh and Vikas Hathwala to an extent, none of the batsmen could make an impact.

Yashpal blazed his way to 47 off 32 balls, hitting five boundaries and two sixes, while Hathwala made 31 off 33 balls.

Saurabh Kumar, Ankit Rajpoor, Piyush Chawla and Kuldeep Yadav picked up two wickets apiece for Uttar Pradesh.

Aditya Tare Slams an Unbeaten Half-century in Maharashtra’s Victory

Skipper Aditya Tare led from the front to crack an unbeaten 65 as Mumbai thrashed Maharashtra by eight wickets in the Group D Twenty20 match.

Chasing 156 for a win at the DRIEMS Ground, Tangi, the Mumbai top-order came good and an unbeaten 83-run third-wicket stand between Tare and Siddhesh Lad (31 not out) helped the side achieve its target in 16.1 overs.

Tare reigned supreme in his 39-ball blitz, which was laced with three fours and four sixes, while opener Akhil Herwadkar (21) and Shreyas Iyer (38) also made useful contributions.

Earlier put into bat, the Kedar Jadhav-led side posted 155 for eight in 20 overs. Prayag Bhati top-scored with 36 runs.

Pace spearhead Dhawal Kulkarni and leg-spinner Pravin Tambe bagged two wickets apiece.

Brief Scores:

Maharashtra 155/8 in 20 overs (Prayag Bhati 36, Nikhil Naik 31; Dhawal Kulkarni 2-28, Pravin Tambe 2-24)

Mumbai 157/2 in 16.1 overs (Aditya Tare 65 not out, Shreyas Iyer 38; Satyajit Bachhav 1-20)

Source: NDTV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *