Proteas squad unchanged for final two Tests

South Africa have named an unchanged 16-man squad for the last two Tests against England.

Fast bowlers Dale Steyn and Kyle Abbott were ruled out of the drawn match in Cape Town through shoulder and hamstring injuries respectively, but will join the team in Johannesburg and both are expecting to be available.

Their replacements in the XI for the Cape Town Test, Kagiso Rabada and Chris Morris, have been retained, with uncapped Hardus Viljoen taking the seam bowling ranks to six.

JP Duminy and Rilee Rossouw are included as the spare batsmen in a squad captained by AB de Villiers, who has taken charge on a short-term basis following Hashim Amla’s resignation at Newlands.

AB de Villiers will captain an unchanged South Africa squad after he was handed the reins for the final two Tests against England

“We were highly encouraged by the performance put up by the Proteas at PPC Newlands,” said convenor of selectors Linda Zondi.

“The very fact that they were nearly able to force a win after conceding 600 runs on the first innings speaks volumes for the character of this group of players.

“We feel we have all our bases covered and also the options that will enable the team to exploit whatever conditions they encounter.”

The Proteas have also named a 14-man squad for the five-match one-day international series against England. It contains 11 members of the Test squad, augmented by Farhaan Behardien, Imran Tahir and David Miller.

South Africa squad for third and fourth Tests v England: AB de Villiers (c), K Abbott, H Amla, T Bavuma, Q de Kock, JP Duminy, F du Plessis, D Elgar, M Morkel, C Morris, D Piedt, K Rabada, R Rossouw, D Steyn, S van Zyl. H Viljoen.

South Africa squad for one-day international series v England: AB de Villiers (c), K Abbott, H Amla, F Behardien, Q de Kock, JP Duminy, F du Plessis, I Tahir, D Miller, M Morkel, C Morris, K Rabada, R Rossouw, D Steyn.

Source: ECB

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *