David Warner and Pat Cummins among players to opt out of West Indies and Bangladesh tours

Pat Cummins is among those who won’t be in West Indies or Bangladesh © Getty Images

David Warner, Pat Cummins and Glenn Maxwell are among six players to have opted out of Australia’s tours of West Indies and Bangladesh while Steven Smith will miss the trips due to an elbow injury.

Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson and Marcus Stoinis are the others to make themselves unavailable for the upcoming tours due to a variety of personal reasons following their time at the IPL and the difficult journey home when the tournament was suspended. Allrounder Daniel Sams had previously opted out of contention.

Wes Agar, the South Australia and Adelaide Strikers pace bowler, has earned his first international call-up as the one uncapped player in the 18-strong squad. Nathan Ellis, the Tasmania quick, and legspinner Tanveer Sangha will travel as reserves.

Dan Christian and Ben McDermott, who both recently aborted their county deals when added to the preliminary squad, have been recalled. Christian last played for Australia in 2017.

Australia squad Aaron Finch (capt), Ashton Agar, Wes Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Dan Christian, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Mitchell Marsh, Riley Meredith, Ben McDermott, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, Ashton Turner, Andrew Tye, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

More to follow

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.