Bangladesh bat, NZ hand debuts to Bruce, Wheeler and Ferguson

Toss: Bangladesh chose to bat v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Ben Wheeler is one of three T20I debutants in New Zealand’s XI © Getty Images

Mashrafe Mortaza, the Bangladesh captain, has opted to bat first in the first T20I against New Zealand at McLean Park. His decision was based on the nature of a pitch that promised plenty of runs.

New Zealand handed T20I debuts to Tom Bruce, Ben Wheeler and Lockie Ferguson, and slotted Corey Anderson, who is playing as a pure batsman, at No. 4.

Bangladesh made two changes to the team that played the third ODI. They rested Taskin Ahmed and brought in Rubel Hossain and brought Soumya Sarkar into the XI in place of Tanbir Hayder.

New Zealand: 1 Kane Williamson (capt), 2 Neil Broom, 3 Colin Munro, 4 Corey Anderson, 5 Tom Bruce, 6 Colin de Grandhomme, 7 Luke Ronchi (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Ben Wheeler, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Lockie Ferguson

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Soumya Sarkar, 7 Mosaddek Hossain, 8 Nurul Hasan (wk), 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Rubel Hossain

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.