Bangladesh opt to bat; Mustafizur returns

Bangladesh boosted their bowling stocks by including one of their most promising finds of 2016 © AFP

Mashrafe Mortaza, the Bangladesh captain, opted to bat first in the third and final ODI against New Zealand at the Saxton Oval in Nelson.

That both sides were playing on the same surface as the one on Thursday, Mashrafe said, influenced their decision on what was a “darker looking surface.”

Mustafizur Rahman, who was rested for the previous game, returned in place of Subashis Roy. New Zealand, meanwhile, brought back offspinner Jeetan Patel and Matt Henry in place of Lockie Ferguson and Trent Boult. Patel played the last of his 39 ODIs before this in October 2009 and has missed 141 ODIs in the interim.

Bangladesh have just pride to play for after conceding the three-match series on Thursday, where they lost by 67 runs.

New Zealand: 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Neil Broom, 5 James Neesham, 6 Colin Munro, 7 Luke Ronchi (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Matt Henry, 11 Jeetan Patel

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Mahmudullah, 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Sabbir Rahman, 6 Mosaddek Hossain, 7 Nurul Hasan (wk), 8 Tanbir Hayder, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Taskin Ahmed

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.