Mustafizur rested, Bangladesh hand three debuts and bowl

Toss Bangladesh chose to bowl v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Mustafizur Rahman has been rested soon after making a comeback from a shoulder surgery on Boxing Day © AFP

Mashrafe Mortaza, the Bangladesh captain, opted to field in the second ODI against New Zealand in Nelson. He said the history at Saxton Oval, where five out of six teams have won chasing, prompted him to make the decision.

Bangladesh were without Mushfiqur Rahim for the first time in more than six years, the wicketkeeper batsman picking up a hamstring injury in the first ODI on Boxing Day. As a result, Nurul Hasan was picked to play his first game of ODI cricket.

That was only one of three changes for the visitors. They rested Mustafizur Rahman and dropped Soumya Sarkar, which paved way for two more debuts to seamer Subashis Roy and legspinner Tanbir Hayder.

New Zealand, meanwhile, were unchanged after their resounding victory in Christchurch. If they win again, they would take an unassailable 2-0 lead in the three-match series.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Neil Broom, 5 James Neesham, 6 Colin Munro, 7 Luke Ronchi (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult

Bangladesh 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Mahmudullah, 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Sabbir Rahman, 6 Mosaddek Hossain, 7 Nurul Hasan (wk), 8 Tanbir Hayder, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Subashis Roy, 11 Taskin Ahmed

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.