Broom returns as New Zealand opt to bat

Toss New Zealand chose to bat v BangladeshLive scorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo: Neil Broom made his way back into the New Zealand team by the weight of his domestic runs © Getty Images

Kane Williamson, the New Zealand captain, decided to bat in the first ODI against Bangladesh at Hagley Oval. He said he wanted to harness scoreboard pressure in the second half with a three-man pace attack, Tim Southee, Trent Boult and Lockie Ferguson.

The big news for Bangladesh was the return of Mustafizur Rahman, playing his first international match since March. Soumya Sarkar also came back after being dropped during the England series in October. Therefore, there was no ODI debut for Tanbir Hayder or Mehedi Hasan and no place for seamers Rubel Hossain and Subashis Roy.

Neil Broom found a place in the New Zealand ODI side for the first time in more than six years. In 2015-16, he topped the run charts in the List A competition, the Ford Trophy, scoring 508 runs in nine matches with three centuries and two fifties.

Matt Henry and Colin de Grandhomme had to sit out for Lockie Ferguson and James Neesham.

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Tom Latham, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Neil Broom, 5 Colin Munro, 6 Luke Ronchi (wk), 7 James Neesham, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Tim Southee, 10 Lockie Ferguson, 11 Trent Boult

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Soumya Sarkar, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Sabbir Rahman, 8 Mosaddek Hossain, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Taskin Ahmed

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.