Saurashtra knock Delhi out; Odisha through

Saurashtra salvaged their season with back-to-back wins over Karnataka and Delhi © ESPNcricinfo Ltd

Saurashtra completed a remarkable turnaround as they sent Delhi crashing out of the 2016-17 Ranji Trophy in Vadodara. They won by five runs to record their second win of the season. That meant Odisha will join Karnataka and Jharkhand as the third qualifier from Group B irrespective of the result in their final group fixture against Jharkhand in Thiruvananthapuram from December 15. This will be Odisha’s first Ranji Trophy quarter-final appearance since 2000-01.

Resuming on 109 for 4, Delhi lost Rishabh Pant early, for an uncharacteristic 69-ball 29. But Milind Kumar (55) and Manan Sharma (46) kept ticking ahead to take Delhi within 100 runs of victory. Their sixth-wicket stand of 77 kept Saurashtra at bay. Then Delhi lost both their set batsman in the space of six runs to trigger a lower order slide.

The wicket of Milind was Shaurya Sanandia’s fifth of the innings. He was complemented by Kushang Patel, who took four, to bring the curtains down on Delhi’s campaign. Saurashtra finished seventh in the nine-team pool, while Delhi finished fourth, one point behind third-placed Odisha.

Vidarbha completed a potentially tricky final-day chase of 188 on the back of half-centuries from Ganesh Satish (63 not out) and Siddesh Wath (64 not out) in Greater Noida. The four-wicket win over Rajasthan meant they finished sixth in the pool, while Rajasthan, who had a solitary win in the season, finished eighth.

Vidarbha were in trouble at 22 for 2 when they lost openers Sanjay Ramaswamy and Faiz Fazal to the new ball pair of Pankaj Singh and Tanvir-ul-Haq respectively. It took a 103-run stand for the third wicket between Ganesh and Wath, who made his second successive fifty, to steady the innings. When Wath fell, there was a hint of opportunity for Rajasthan, but Jitesh Sharma’s cameo 27 shut out all hopes.

Karnataka beat Maharashtra inside three days in Mohali on Friday to record their fifth win of the tournament. Assam, by virtue of finishing last, were relegated to Group C.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.