Unchanged Australia bat first in bid for clean sweep

Toss Australia chose to bat v New Zealand
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Lockie Ferguson came in for Matt Henry © Cricket Australia/Getty Images

Australia captain Steven Smith won the toss and chose to bat in the third and final Chappell-Hadlee ODI at the MCG. It was the third time Australia were setting a target in the series.

The hosts went with an unchanged team, retaining their fast bowlers Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Pat Cummins while also continuing to ignore the all-round skills of Glenn Maxwell.

New Zealand had to leave out allrounder James Neesham due to continued pain after he was struck on the arm by Starc in Canberra, while also recalling Lockie Ferguson at the expense of Matt Henry.

The MCG pitch looked dry and ideal for batting on a cool afternoon in Melbourne.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch, 3, Steven Smith (capt), 4 George Bailey, 5 Travis Head, 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 James Faulkner, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Pat Cummins, 11 Josh Hazlewood

New Zealand 1 Tom Latham, 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Henry Nicholls, 5 Colin Munro, 6 BJ Watling (wk), 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Colin de Grandhomme, 9 Lockie Ferguson, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Trent Boult

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.