NZ opt to bowl; Southee in for Ferguson

Toss New Zealand opt to bowl v Australia

New Zealand preferred Tim Southee’s swing and control to Lockie Ferguson’s pace in a must-win ODI © Getty Images

New Zealand’s captain Kane Williamson won the toss and sent Australia in to bat in the second Chappell-Hadlee ODI at Manuka Oval.

Needing to win to keep the series alive, New Zealand dropped Lockie Ferguson after his Sydney debut for the more experienced swing bowler Tim Southee. Australia dropped Adam Zampa from the side that won handsomely at the SCG, replacing him with the allround skills of James Faulkner.

A hint of afternoon rain delayed the toss by half an hour on an overcast day. However the pitch was dry and looked good for batting. Manuka Oval’s surface has a tendency to slow up in the evening and also favour some reverse swing, thus favouring the team batting first.

Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch, 3, Steven Smith (capt), 4 George Bailey, 5 Mitchell Marsh, 6 Travis Head, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 James Faulkner, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Pat Cummins, 11 Josh Hazlewood.

New Zealand: 1 Tom Latham, 2 Martin Guptill, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Jimmy Neesham, 5 Colin Munro, 6 BJ Watling (wk), 7 Mitchell Santner, 8 Colin de Grandhomme, 9 Matt Henry, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Trent Boult.

Daniel Brettig is an assistant editor at ESPNcricinfo. @danbrettig

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.