Bravo, Russell keep Dhaka on top of BPL table

Dhaka Dynamites 135 for 4 (Sangakkara 35, Alauddin 33*, Russell 31*, Nabi 1-2) beat Chittagong Vikings 134 for 6 (Tamim 74, Malik 33, Bravo 3-27) by six wickets
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Andre Russell took the wicket of Chris Gayle and scored an unbeaten 18-ball 31 © BCB

Dhaka Dynamites ensured a first-place finish in the league phase of the BPL with a six-wicket win over Chittagong Vikings. They stretched their points tally to 16, opening up a four-point lead over Chittagong, whose five-match winning streak they also snapped.

Dhaka’s chase of 135 got a little complicated in the 13th over when Kumar Sangakkara was run out by Zakir Hasan’s direct hit from long-off, after he made a run-a-ball 35. It left them 83 for four, but Andre Russell settled the chase with three sixes in an unbeaten 18-ball 31. He was well supported by Alauddin Babu, who finished not out on 33 as the pair shared an unbroken 52-run fifth-wicket partnership.

With Chittagong sent in to bat, Tamim Iqbal struck his third consecutive fifty in the space of six days, and became only the fourth batsman to make five fifties in a single BPL season. Shamsur Rahman’s six fifties in 2013 remains the record. In this innings, Tamim ended up scoring 55 per cent of Chittagong’s total of 134.

Chittagong lost wickets quickly either side of an 86-run fourth wicket stand between Tamim and Shoaib Malik. Chris Gayle was the first to go, top edging Russell to extra-cover in the fourth over. Anamul Haque also top-edged a slog in the next over, with wicketkeeper Sangakkara completing the catch.

Tamim and Malik came together after Jahurul Islam holed out at long-on in the eighth over, They played within themselves for a while before Tamim renewed his big hitting. He struck three sixes and six fours in his 59-ball 74. Malik contributed 33 off 25 balls with a four and a six.

Both were caught in the deep off successive deliveries before Mohammad Nabi joined them in the dugout, out for a two-ball duck.

For Dhaka, Dwayne Bravo took three wickets while Russell picked up one. Ronsford Beaton took two wickets on his BPL debut.

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.