Uncapped Ferguson in NZ squad for Chappell-Hadlee Trophy

Auckland fast bowler Lockie Ferguson has been named in New Zealand’s 14-man squad for the three ODIs in Australia next month, following his bright start to the domestic season. Legspinner Todd Astle has also found a place in the squad, displacing Ish Sodhi, who had played in the ODIs in India. Batsman Henry Nicholls makes his way back into the ODI fray as well.

Seam-bowling allrounder Colin de Grandhomme has entered the ODI squad following an impressive Test debut, taking the place of spinning allrounder Anton Devcich. Colin Munro been included in the squad after missing out in India through injury.

Batsman Ross Taylor – who will have eye surgery on Wednesday – was unavailable for selection. Fast bowlers Adam Milne and Mitchell McClenaghan, and allrounders Corey Anderson and George Worker, are all out through injury as well. Wicketkeeper-batsman Luke Ronchi has been left out, with BJ Watling preferred.

The Chappell-Hadlee series begins on December 4 in Sydney, before the action moves to Canberra, then Melbourne.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (capt), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, BJ Watling

More to follow

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.