Karen Rolton inducted into ICC Hall of Fame

File photo – Karen Rolton’s career for Australia spanned 14 years, during which she won two World Cups © Getty Images

Former Australia women’s captain Karen Rolton was the latest inductee into the International Cricket Council’s Hall of Fame. Rolton was presented with a personalised cap during the tea break on the opening day of the third Test between Australia and South Africa in Adelaide.

She became the 81st player overall, and the sixth woman to receive the accolade. Belinda Clark, Rachel-Heyno Flint, Enid Bakewell, Debbie Hockley and Betty Wilson are the other five women internationals to have been presented the commemorative cap.

“It’s with great honour that I accept this award of being inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame, “Rolton, who was the first ever recipient of the ICC Women’s Player of the Year award in 2006, said. “To be acknowledged like this is something that I never expected and I am truly grateful to be listed amongst some of my all-time cricketing heroes.

“I’d like to thank Cricket Australia, my teammates over the years and, most importantly, my parents for supporting me playing cricket as a junior and right until the end of my career. Finally, thank you to the ICC for inducting me into the Hall of Fame, and your ongoing support of women’s cricket.”

Rolton is the only Australian woman to score more than 1000 Test runs; her 209* against England is the highest individual score by an Australian woman. She also scored 4814 runs in 141 ODIs at an average of 48.14, with eight centuries – a record only recently beaten by current Australian captain Meg Lanning. Rolton was also part of two of Australia’s World Cup triumphs – 1997 and 2005 – and captained the team in the 2009 edition.

“Karen had a long and successful career which saw several high points, including a century in an ICC Women’s World Cup final,” ICC chief executive David Richardson said. “She proved her class time and again with superb performances, particularly in big matches, making her so well respected. She was a player women cricketers from around the world looked up to.

“With increased investment, women’s cricket has grown rapidly over the past few years but it is through the exploits and example set by players like Karen that young women and girls are inspired to take up the game. We congratulate Karen on behalf of the ICC for her successful career and for this well-deserved award.”

Rolton is first of four cricketers who will be formally inducted into the ICC Cricket Hall of Fame this season. The other three are Muttiah Muralitharan of Sri Lanka, Australia’s Arthur Morris, and England’s George Lohmann.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.