Unchanged Sri Lanka bowl against new-look West Indies

Toss Sri Lanka chose to bowl v West Indies
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Shai Hope was one of three debutants in West Indies’ playing XI © AFP

Sri Lanka captain Upul Tharanga won his second successive toss as stand-in captain and chose to bowl again against a new-look West Indies team in Harare. Sri Lanka named an unchanged side from the team that thrashed Zimbabwe by eight wickets in the tri-series opener.

With some thunderstorms forecast for the afternoon and the early morning start, West Indies captain Jason Holder also wanted to bowl first. Holder lost his sixth conseuctive toss in international matches. West Indies made six changes to the team from their previous ODI, against Pakistan last month. They named three debutants: batsmen Shai Hope and Rovman Powell and offspinner Ashley Nurse.

Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Kieron Pollard and Alzarri Joseph were all left out of the squad, while Darren Bravo was sent home after an ‘inappropriate and unacceptable’ tweet regarding WICB chairman Dave Cameron. Sunil Narine had gone home for personal reasons.

West Indies: 1 Johnson Charles, 2 Kraigg Brathwaite, 3 Evin Lewis, 4 Jonathan Carter, 5 Shai Hope (wk), 6 Rovman Powell, 7 Jason Holder (capt), 8 Craig Brathwaite, 9 Ashley Nurse, 10 Sulieman Benn, 11 Shannon Gabriel

Sri Lanka: 1 Dhananjaya de Silva, 2 Kusal Perera, 3 Niroshan Dickwella (wk), 4 Kusal Mendis, 5 Upul Tharanga (capt), 6 Asela Gunaratne, 7 Shehan Jayasuriya, 8 Sachith Pathirana, 9 Nuwan Kulasekara, 10 Suranga Lakmal, 11 Nuwan Pradeep

Nikhil Kalro is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.