Zimbabwe bowl; both sides unchanged

It remains to be seen if Zimbabwe’s bowlers will justify Graeme Cremer’s decision © Associated Press

Graeme Cremer, the Zimbabwe captain, elected to bowl in the second Test against Sri Lanka on a Harare Sports Club surface that had some live grass. The hosts kept their faith in the same XI that did duty in the first Test, which Sri Lanka won by 225 runs, last week. That meant Tarisai Musakanda, the middle-order batsman, will have to wait little longer to make his Test debut.

Sri Lanka, eager to get their combinations right ahead a the South Africa tour next month, also resisted temptation to make any changes to their side despite being stretched and made to bowl nearly 200 overs across both innings in the first Test. Rangana Herath, the stand-in captain, and Dilruwan Perera will take over the spin duties, along with three frontline fast bowlers in Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara and Asela Gunaratne.

The Decision Review System will make a long-awaited debut in Zimbabwe during this Test after some last-minute additions to the available technology made its implementation possible.

Zimbabwe: 1 Tino Mawoyo, 2 Brian Chari, 3 Hamilton Masakadza, 4 Craig Ervine, 5 Sean Williams, 6 Peter Moor, 7 Malcolm Waller, 8 Graeme Cremer, 9 Donald Tiripano, 10 Carl Mumba, 11 Chris Mpofu

Sri Lanka: 1 Kaushal Silva, 2 Dimuth Karunaratne, 3 Kusal Perera, 4 Kusal Mendis, 5 Upul Tharanga, 6 Dananjaya de Silva, 7 Dilruwan Perera, 8 Rangana Herath, 9 Suranga Lakmal, 10 Asela Gunaratne 11 Lahiru Kumara

Shashank Kishore is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.