J&K bowled out for 162; Services crawl to 170 for 3

File photo – Left-arm spinner Mayank Dagar took 4 for 71 against Jammu & Kashmir © Getty Images

Mayank Dagar and Pankaj Jaiswal shared seven wickets between them as Himachal Pradesh bowled Jammu & Kashmir out for 162 on the first day in Ranchi.

Parvez Rasool, who took over the captaincy from Mithun Manhas, won the toss and elected to bat. Jaswal removed opener Umar Nissar (2) in the second over, before 19-year-old spinner Dagar broke a second-wicket partnership of 47 to reduce J&K to 49 for 2. Jaiswal was involved in three of the next four wickets to fall, as he ran out Puneet Bisht (12), and removed Parvez Rasool (26) and Ram Dayal (4) to reduce J&K to 111 for 6.

Opener Shubham Khajuria, who scored a century in the last match, scored 48 and was the last batsman to be dismissed, having retired mid-way through his innings. Mithun Manhas (18), who had also retired, was the ninth wicket to fall. Both of them got out to Dagar, who took the last three wickets to finish with 4 for 33.

Himachal lost openers Ankush Bains (6) and Prashant Chopra (17) on the way to 58 for 2 at stumps.

Services scored at less than two runs per over as they went into stumps at 170 for 3 against Andhra in Indore.

Services captain Soumik Chatterjee was the first batsman to be dismissed after electing to bat, falling to Cheepurapalli Stephen in the fifteenth over. Stephen (2-35) then got rid of Ravi Chauhan off the very next ball, and Services were reduced to 19 for 2.

Opener Anshul Gupta, who scored 72 off 268, put on 140 for the third wicket with Shamsher Yadav to steady Services’ innings, before falling to the part-time legspin of DB Ravi Teja with the score on 159. From that point, Services scored only 11 runs in the last 25.2 overs, to end the day on 170 for 3. Yadav was unbeaten on 60 off 226 balls.

Haryana overcame two passages of losing wickets for no runs, to end the day on 227 for 8 against Kerala in Jaipur.

After being put in, Haryana lost opener Shubham Rohilla in the third over. Nitin Saini (21) put on 44 for the second wicket with Chaitanya Bishnoi (21) before both of them fell to debutant medium-pacer Venugopalan Vinod Kumar with the score on 53.

Vinod Kumar then broke a 51-run partnership for the fourth wicket when he removed Rajat Paliwal (18). Sandeep Warrier removed Mohit Hooda (30) and Harshal Patel in the next over, and Haryana went from 104 for 4 to 104 for 6 in the space of 11 balls.

Rohit Sharma scored an unbeaten 51 as he put on 50 with Yuzvendra Chahal (16), 34 with Mohit Sharma (24) and an unbroken 39 with Sanjay Pahal (24*) to take Haryana to 227 at stumps. Warrier ended the day with 4 for 59, and Vinod Kumar finished with 3 for 37.

A wet outfield truncated play in the match between Chattisgarh and Goa in Cuttack. Only 38.3 overs were bowled on the day. There was no play until lunch after Goa won the toss and elected to field. When play began, they removed debutant Abhishek Singh for a duck in the third over. A second-wicket partnership of 76 between opener Sahil Gupta (29) and Amandeep Khare (58*) ended when Gupta was run out with the score on 81. Returning skipper Mohammad Kaif (8*) joined Khare as they took Chhatisgarh to 103 for 2 before play was called off.

An unfortunate incident summed up the day, as medium-pacer Felix Alemao slipped in his follow-through and had to be taken off on a stretcher after bowling 5.5 overs.

Play was abandoned for the day in the match between Hyderabad and Tripura in Delhi, as smog made it impossible for players to take the field.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.