Rain returns after Oman opt to bowl against Netherlands

Toss Oman opt to bowl v Netherlands
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

Jatinder Singh was left out for Rajeshkumar Ranpura © ICC

Oman, coming off a proper high, having scalped Associate favourites Ireland, opted to bowl against Netherlands in Dharamsala. Sultan Ahmed, the oldest captain in the World Twenty20, said that his decision was motivated by the overhead conditions, after rain and a wet outfield delayed the toss by 15 minutes.”There’s a bit of drizzle, so the conditions will be good for the pacers,” he said.

Netherlands captain Peter Borren conceded that he would have preferred to bowl as well, keeping in view the constant rain threat, in a must-win match for his side. Minutes after the toss, when the players were preparing to line up for the national anthems, rain returned, forcing the covers back on. The forecast for the rest of the day appears gloomy as well.

Both teams made a change. Netherlands brought in seamer Ahsan Malik for Canterbury-born allrounder Logan van Beek, while Rajeshkumar Ranpura replaced top-order batsman Jatinder Singh, who led Oman to a shock win, the previous time these two sides met, in the World T20 qualifier in July 2015.

This Group A World T20 qualifier clash is the first international game between Oman and Netherlands.

Netherlands 1 Stephen Myburgh, 2 Wesley Barresi (wk), 3 Ben Cooper, 4 Peter Borren (capt), 5 Tom Cooper, 6 Roelof van der Merwe, 7 Pieter Seelar, 8 Ahsan Malik 9 Mudassar Bukhari, 10 Timm van der Gugten, 11 Paul van Meekeren.

Oman 1 Zeeshan Maqsood, 2 Khawar Ali, 3 Rajeshkumar Ranpura , 4 Adnan Ilyas, 5 Mehran Khan, 6 Aamir Kaleem, 7 Amir Ali, 8 Sultan Ahmed (capt. & wk), 9 Ajay Lalcheta, 10 Munis Ansari, 11 Bilal Khan.

Deivarayan Muthu is a sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.