Ireland bowl in 12-over must-win match

Toss Ireland chose to bowl v Bangladesh
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

George Dockrell returned to the Ireland XI in place of Craig Young © AFP

Ireland captain William Porterfield chose to field in their 12-overs-a-side must-win game against Bangladesh in Dharamsala. Rain delayed the toss by nearly two hours, after continuous efforts by the groundsmen enabled the contest to go ahead. Ireland brought in left-arm spinner George Dockrell for seamer Craig Young.

Rain had washed out the previous match of the day, between Oman and Netherlands, which was called off an hour and 20 minutes after the scheduled start. It was stop and start throughout the evening until the rain finally stopped around 7.30pm local time. The toss eventually happened after the umpires went through the entire ground to find the remaining wet spots.

Bangladesh brought in Abu Hider and Mohammad Mithun in place of Nasir Hossain and Arafat Sunny, who is flying to Chennai on Saturday to have his bowling action tested after it was reported by the ICC. Taskin Ahmed, the other bowler whose action was reported, would play against Ireland.

Bangladesh 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Mahmudullah, 7 Mohammad Mithun, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 9 Al-Amin Hossain, 10 Abu Hider, 11 Taskin Ahmed

Ireland 1 William Porterfield (capt), 2 Paul Stirling, 3 Gary Wilson, 4 Niall O’Brien (wk), 5 Kevin O’Brien, 6 Andrew Poynter, 7 Andy McBrine, 8 Max Sorensen, 9 Tim Murtagh, 10 Boyd Rankin, 11 George Dockrell

Mohammad Isam is ESPNcricinfo’s Bangladesh correspondent. @isam84

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.