Nawaz, Pietersen set up tense Quetta win

Quetta Gladiators 139 for 7 (Pietersen 35, Afridi 2-17, Wahab 2-29) beat Peshawar Zalmi 135 for 7 (Sammy 48, Nawaz 3-29) by three wickets
Scorecard and ball-by-ball details

File photo – Kevin Pietersen marshalled Quetta Gladiators’ chase of 136 © Cricket Australia/Getty Images

In the second thriller of the day, Quetta Gladiators knocked off seven runs off the last over with a ball to spare to establish themselves as the early pace setters in the Pakistan Super League. Quetta top the table with three wins in three matches.

Elton Chigumbura thumped a four after two short balls, the second of which was deemed a wide, from the last over bowled by Wahab Riaz. The penultimate ball was deflected for four between slip and keeper, off Anwar Ali’s pad, as Quetta broke into big celebrations, mentor Viv Richards even getting off his seat and having his hands aloft.

The victory was set up by 21-year old Mohammad Nawaz, who picked up his second Man-of-the-Match award in three matches. Bowling with a newish ball, Nawaz impressed with his skiddy darts and clever arm balls. He broke a promising opening partnership when he dismissed Tamim Iqbal for 14. Two balls later, Mohammad Hafeez swept the spinner straight to Chigumbura at square leg. Nawaz would also account for Shahid Yousuf to finish with figures of 3 for 29.

Umar Gul rattled Peshwar Zalmi further with a double-strike in the 12th over, removing Dawid Malan and Shahid Afridi. By then, Peshwar had slumped to 59 for 5 in 12 overs. Darren Sammy, however, clubbed four sixes and one four during his 31-ball 48 to lift his side to 135.

Quetta then lost their openers Luke Wright and Ahmed Shehzad within five overs of the chase. Kevin Pietersen dropped anchor and marshalled the youngsters even as Sarfraz Ahmed threatened to run himself and Pietersen out. Pietersen’s wicket tightened the chase, but Chigumbura and Anwar Ali showed good composure to steer Quetta home in a tense finish. For Peshwar, Afridi and Wahab picked up two wickets each.

© ESPN Sports Media Ltd.

Source: ESPN Crickinfo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.